Iron County offers an online traffic school course for moving violations issued by:
- Utah Highway Patrol
- Iron County Sheriff’s Office
- City of Enoch Police Department
- Brian Head Marshal’s Office
If your citation was issued by Cedar City Police or Southern Utah University Police, please read the information below.
If you are charged with 26 MPH or above the posted limit, or a class B misdemeanor moving violation you are not eligible for traffic school.
If you possess a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you are not eligible for traffic school.
If your citation was issued by Cedar City Police, to enroll you must:
- Call Cedar City Police at (435) 586-2956. Enrollment cost = $60.00 – Class must be attended in person.
- Call Iron County Justice Court at (435) 865-5335. Indicate that you have enrolled, and then pay your fine.
If your citation was issued by Southern Utah University Police, to enroll you must:
- Call SUU Police at (435) 586-7793. Enrollment cost = $50.00 – Class must be attended in person.
- Call Iron County Justice Court at (435) 865-5335. Indicate that you have enrolled, and then pay your fine and $25.00 Plea in Abeyance fee.
For all other citations issued by Utah Highway Patrol, Iron County Sheriff’s Office, City of Enoch Police Department and Brian Head Marshal’s Office, please perform the following steps.
- You must call the Iron County Justice Court at (435) 865-5335 to enroll in Traffic School.
- You must pay your fine amount, plus a $25.00 Plea in Abeyance fee at signup.
- You must sign and return the Plea in Abeyance form and the Rights/Instructions form within 10 days.
- You must sign up for online traffic school, pay the required fee and complete the course within 30 days.
- We will check your driving record after 90 days. If there are no more citations, your charge will be dismissed.
FEES: $25.00 Plea in Abeyance Fee + ($) Fine amount to be determined by Utah State Bail Schedule + online course fee.
All fees are payable to the Iron County Justice Court, with the exception of the online course fee which is paid to the online course provider.
- 1-10 MPH OVER LIMIT – $120.00 fine + $25.00 Plea in Abeyance fee = $145.00
- 11-15 MPH OVER LIMIT – $150.00 fine + $25.00 Plea in Abeyance fee = $175.00
- 16-20 MPH OVER LIMIT – $200.00 fine + $25.00 Plea in Abeyance fee = $225.00
- 21-25 MPH OVER LIMIT – $270.00 fine + $25.00 Plea in Abeyance fee = $295.00
Once you’ve enrolled in traffic school, you may pay by credit or debit card by calling (435) 261-7571. Please have your case number before calling.
There is a 2.5% fee to pay by credit and debit cards.
Cash payments can be made at the Iron County Justice Court from 8:00am to 4:00pm.
Make cashier’s check or money order payable to the Iron County Justice Court at 82 N 100 E #101, Cedar City, UT 84720.
Frequently Asked Questions
I received a traffic citation and paid it. Can I still take traffic school?
If you fail to notify the Justice Court at the time of payment that you wish to enroll in traffic school your citation will go on your driving record as a conviction.
If I take traffic school, do I still have to pay my fine?
Yes. Traffic school costs are not in lieu of the above mentioned fine and plea in abeyance fee.
NOTE: Cell phone pictures are acceptable for any documents involving traffic school.
I have signed and returned all of the paperwork, paid my fine and fees and completed traffic school. What happens now?
You must abide by any other requirements in the plea in abeyance, which includes maintaining a clean driving record and not receiving any more citations on a state or local level for 90 days from the day our judge signs your plea in abeyance agreement. Your citation will be dismissed at the end of your 90 day probation period, once compliance to these terms has been established.
Will I be notified by the court when my charge has been dismissed.
The Iron County Justice Court WILL NOT send you confirmation that your case has been dismissed. If you have any questions with any of this information, please call the Iron County Justice Court (435) 865-5335.
I paid my fine and plea in abeyance fee, but I never completed traffic school. What will happen to my case?
After your 90 day probation period ends you will receive a notice in the mail with a sentencing date for your case. This is your chance to appear before our judge and provide proof of compliance with the plea in abeyance agreement. If you do not provide sufficient proof of compliance for the judge to dismiss your charge, or if you do not show up for your court date, your charge will go of record and your case will be closed. No warrant will be issued unless payment of your fine has not been received by the court.
Once you have contacted the court and paid the required fee and fine amounts, you may start your online traffic school.
For any additional questions or help registering, contact the Justice Court: